Sun State Roller Derby

Sun State Roller Derby

Sun State is a roller derby league based in Brisbane, Australia.

We are proud to be a WFTDA Member League.


Sun State is an inclusive and collaborative roller derby league that welcomes members from all walks of life and promotes excellence at every level.

We aim to be ambassadors for Australian roller derby at home and on the international stage, seeking and creating valuable opportunities for enriching competition while championing continual development by and for our members.


Established 2007

Sun State is based on Brisbane's south side, but its members are spread throughout Brisbane and the Gold Coast.

Training is held at Mansfield. Local games are hosted at various venues across South-East Queensland.

Sun State's representative team - Swarm - are a Division 1 ranked team in the WFTDA. They are invited to play games locally, interstate, and internationally.

Empowering Our Members

Sun State promotes and supports the empowerment of women in a safe, organised environment that fosters the health, well-being, and personal growth of our skaters.

All Sun State members - comprised of skaters, officials, and volunteers - have a voice and contribute to the running, decision making, and direction-setting of the league.

Celebrating diversity

Sun State chooses to celebrate difference and focus on what our members, competitors, and supporters have in common - rather than what separates them - in a safe and accepting environment.